Bpa200 Opa549 Sub Amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello Folks!

It's been a while since I posted anything here, a bit busy with other things...like work. In any case, I'm looking for some critique on my BPA sub amp design. It consists of 2 parallel OPA549s bridged with a DRV134. I have used an OPA2134 with a LPF in front of the bridge driver. The total size for all of the boards is 4"x6". I still need to work on the PSU board for the amps, I wan't something nice with a soft start, it will likely be unregulated.

Suggestions are welcone/encouraged :)

G.

Attachments

• bpa_board_set.png
    bpa_board_set.png
    39.8 KB · Views: 943
Gcollier,
I like the design. I'm new at this, so my scrutiny, doesn't mean much. I have just started looking into chipamps to replace the amplifyer in a JBL sub that has died. I was looking at doing something like this design http://www.shine7.com/audio/bpa300.htm, except with four LM3886s instead if six. Like your design, he also uses a DRV134 to bridge two paralelled amps. I was thinking of putting the bridge circuit and the two bridged paralelled amps all on the same board.

I don't know if it's true, but I hear the OPA549 is not very good for higher power amps: http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showthread/t-40189.html. I'd like to learn more about your design and see a schematic if you have one.

Re: Re: Bpa200 Opa549 Sub Amp

swigley said:
Gcollier,
I don't know if it's true, but I hear the OPA549 is not very good for higher power amps: http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showthread/t-40189.html. I'd like to learn more about your design and see a schematic if you have one.