Do I really need/want a Gainclone? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 11th June 2006, 07:43 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Do I really need/want a Gainclone?

Hi all,

I'm new to this higher power amplifier stuff, having only built headphone amps and a couple of DACs before - so please bear with me whilst I ask what might be some rather obvious questions.

I think(??) I want to build a Gainclone as they seem to be simple to build, reasonably inexpensive, of a good audio quality and reasonably compact.

I was looking at building the LM3886 stereo kit from chipamps.com to power a pair of these older Infinity speakers (use what you got right?) - but it would be nice to keep using it in the future.

I am GUESSING that 40W into 6ohms will be enough, my current amp is 25W and seems to be enough for most situations. Let me know if I'm wrong. I haven't really found what I should be aiming for in terms of amp power vs. speaker power without destroying anything.

In my digging I think I've figured out that I'd like to use a 225VA toroidal transformer with 2x0-18V secondaries which rectified would give just on +/- 25V. If I'm reading page 14 of the LM3886 Datasheet properly I'm figuring this would give me about 40W output power at 6ohms?

The 225VA transformer gives just over 4A on each of the secondaries, where the datasheet tells me that 40W output into 6ohms requires 3.65A = sqrt((2x40W)/6Ohms).
Hrm, I think I just realised that I'm building two of these (stereo) off one transformer so perhaps I need a higher VA rated unit?