Need Help With a True center tap Transformer

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi All,

A newbie here. Could some one please explain to me how to wire up a true center tap transformer with 3 wires V+, 0 & V- on Brian’s version 3 power supply board found here http://www.chipamp.com/lm3875rev3.pdf. I purchased two Toroid transformers from Apex Jr., 120v 2x25 here is the site page. http://www.apexjr.com/miscellaneous.html#Toroids For testing purposes, I only wired up 1 transformer. I followed Steve’s instructions from Apex Jr. (he has a loyal customer for life, great PR) regarding the center tap that gave me about 26v ac per secondary. I solder V+ red to outside AC1, 0 black center tap to AC1 inside and AC2 inside, V- orange to outside AC2. With AC power applied to power supply board I get normal rectification around +/- 35 per rail. All seems to work as it should , After I soldered the amp boards to the power board, I get beautiful music but the transformer hums slightly as soon as I plug it in, gets hot and begins to smoke.
Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
Jim

I made the same mistake you did. Heres what you need to do.
Only four diodes should be mounted to the rev 3 power supply board, these are D8,D4,D5 and D1. Run a jumper from D6(outside hole) to D7(outside hole). Then run a jumperfrom D2(outside hole) to D3(outside hole). Also run a jumper from D2(inside hole) to D3(inside hole). Your centertapped transformer connects as such(on my working amp anyway), Your centertap wire goes to PG-(yes that is correct), your V- goes to AC2(inside) and your V= goes to AC2(outside). You now have a working rev 3 amp. Hope your X-former didnt get ruined. If smoke came out of it I have a bad feeling about that.

Thanks Everyone
Eddog,