Opto resistor circuit

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys,

I'm building a circuit that has an adjustable gain. The gain is controlled by an opto-resistor. I've attached the schematic.

The circuit runs on a single supply, hence the voltage dividers. At the front is a low pass filter, then a buffer, then the inverting gain stage. The opamp I'm using is a OPA2134. +V is around 8.5V.

The circuit works really well on the breadboard, but when I PCB it it oscillates like crazy when the opto-resistor resistances goes into the megaohm range.

If you're looking at the circuit and going "man this guy's green" you're right. I'm pretty new to audio design. If you could provide any suggestions that would help with either the oscillating problem or anything else you might see that's blatantly incorrect, I'd appreciate it.

Thanks,

Steve.

Attachments

• opto-resistor-schematic.jpg
    opto-resistor-schematic.jpg
    25.4 KB · Views: 483
Hi David,

Do you mean that the opto resistor doesn't behave like a nice resistor when a constant current is fed into the LED, or do you mean that the output resistance of the LDR is nonlinear with respect to the input current?

I'm assuming you mean the latter. The circuit is for a guitar effect. The gain of the circuit doesn't have to be precise. What's most important is that the gain is varying.

As for the oscillating, I cured it by putting a 100pF cap across the 10k feedback resistor. My remaining problem is that control voltages for the opto resistor are showing up in the audio signal. I'm getting a weird "digital" sound when I change the gain.

Thanks for having a look at my circuit Dave.

Steve.

2sb18 said:
The circuit works really well on the breadboard, but when I PCB it it oscillates like crazy when the opto-resistor resistances goes into the megaohm range.