Starting my first LM4780 Gainclone amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Well I have done a lot of reading in this forum and I have decided to build my first amplifier. I have decided on a gainclone. I guess the thing that got me onto the trail of these amps was researching the Phoenix speakers on www.linkwitzlab.com and his talking about chip amps. I am an ex-Air Force avionics tech and working on electronics has always been enjoyable to me, I think this will be a fun 'first' amp to build.

I am on a very tight budget so it may take a while for me get done but I went ahead and bought the first piece of the puzzle a few days ago. I got the heatsink off of eBay and it should be arriving within a few days. I thought the price was fair and it is probably overkill but to me that is usually a good thing. With shipping it was $9.25. From the pics it appears to already have the proper mounting holes for the LM4780 but only time will tell. I have access to only basic tools so that would be a nice bonus.

I plan to use it to drive my modded Optimus LX-5 Pro speakers and will probably also build another to drive my diy T-Line sub. Of course in the long run I plan to build some new speakers and it will be a real challenge for me to pick a design; Phoenix, full-range driver (Fostex), or maybe just some MTM's.

I have not nailed the design down yet but I plan on an unregulated ps and point-to-point construction for the amp (I think I have an idea that may make this both easier to contruct and more durable, I'll see).

I plan to update this thread as work progresses but with an 18-hour load this semester, free time will be a bit of a luxury.

Thanks to everyone for all the great information that is being shared in this forum!

Attachments

• heatsink.jpg
    heatsink.jpg
    28.3 KB · Views: 1,741