Lm4702

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I can't see any reason for which these shouldn't work, but i can't find any beta-ic plots so maybe the driver will have some trouble driving them loud. LME49810 and LME49811 are better right now.

The transistors can give > 10A peak which should give more than 100Wpk with 45º loudspeakers, which is probably loud enough for you. Paralleling a pair would help preventing beta droop and make a more rugged amplifier.

Remember to use nice thermal compensation.

Good luck!

bobekucor said:
hi, just wanna ask is it possible to use 2SD2488 and 2SB1620 darligtons in building amp with Lm4702, i have 5 pairs tooked from Sony HT receiver, and wanna build something that would sound good but also have enough power (maybe using a multiple darlingtons at output?)
so I would appreciate if someone`d be kind to tell me how to do that in schematic, I am a quite newbie with this stuf

I think these parts are from the old Sanken product list -- they are probably sufficiently beefy for the task. I have used MN2488, MP1620; TIP142, 147 etc.

jackinnj said:
Multiple Darlingtons (i.e. Darlingtons in parallel) are NOT a good idea.

I can be done with good results, but the Emitter resistors required to get decent current sharing are quite high in value. My tests many years ago revealed that 0.5 Ohm was required to get below 10% mismatch in current. I've used up to 4 in parallel without stability problems (TIP142/147).

I also used 47 Ohm stopper resistors on all the Bases. This probably helps more with stability than current sharing.

JustBuildLspkAS said:
hi everyone.(sorry for my poor english)

Need help for the BJT O/P stage for newbie ss amp. design as me.

I would like to use this output stage for my amp . How I chosen the correct bias for this circuit ,(for the out put transistor I need run idling 50-100mA / piece)

Hi JustBuild