Clarion car stereo problem - bad Sanyo LA4743B chip?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everyone. I'd like to first introduce myself - I'm a recent graduate from the University of Kentucky with a BS in EE. I'm now working as a Controls Engineer for Cummins, at the plant that produces most of the Dodge Ram diesel engines. I like to mess around with odds and ends, and have a problem with a car stereo amp:

A few years back, my Clarion car CD player went on the fritz. It sounded ok when the balance and fade were set to power only one speaker, but otherwise, it sounded like every speaker was blown. When hooked up to an external amp, however, the sound was fine. But something wasn't right.

My replacement stereo was stolen this week, so I drug the Clarion back out. I drove to my friend's place so I could run the preamps to a set of computer speakers to make sure it sounded fine, which it did. However, I noticed something disturbing - the unit's internal amp was extremely hot - after two minutes, the stereo's casing above the amp chip's heatsink became too hot to touch.

Tonight I took the thing apart and found the amp chip - a Sanyo LA4743B. It doesn't appear screwed up, and the other components seem normal.

Does this sound like it is indeed the amp chip, or might it be something else? Is there an easy way to test it out?

Any help would be MUCH appreciated!!!

Thanks everyone,
Brian

Do you have access to an infrared temperature "gun" at work? I have found those to be useful in isolating overheating components in the past. Of course, your finger will do fine as well. :)

Of course, just because the chip is hot doesn't mean it's dead. And if you're testing it on the bench, make sure it's properly heat sunk if you're playing loud music through it -- the case is probably the heat sink in this case, so SOME heat is normal.