Newbie project advice

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello to everyone!

I am looking into buildin a really nice amp (sound and cosmetics) . I was looking at getting a turntable and realised that I needed a decent sounding amp. I have a nice CD player. But fancy a new project.

(Just to fill you in *probably shoud have put this in the intros section sorry!* I am an eletronics engineer and enjoy tinkering with things. I spend a lot of time working of guitar effects pedals and listneing to music. I think that it is time to have a decent amp and set of speakers to fully appreciate music)

So my idea for a new project was to build and amp and make a set of speakers to suit the amp.
I have had a look around and think that the Gainclone is a reasonable idea. Although I am sceptical about an amp with and IC!) So is the a good amp to start with?

Also I will be taking the ip from my CD player, do I need two amps for one side? If I do I assume that I can couple the volume control for both onto on pot and have a master volume.Hello to everyone!

I am looking into buildin a really nice amp (sound and cosmetics) . I was looking at getting a turntable and realised that I needed a decent sounding amp. I have a nice CD player. But fancy a new project.

(Just to fill you in *probably shoud have put this in the intros section sorry!* I am an eletronics engineer and enjoy tinkering with things. I spend a lot of time working of guitar effects pedals and listneing to music. I think that it is time to have a decent amp and set of speakers to fully appreciate music)

So my idea for a new project was to build and amp and make a set of speakers to suit the amp.
I have had a look around and think that the Gainclone is a reasonable idea. Although I am sceptical about an amp with and IC!) So is the a good amp to start with?