simple but powerful

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
helo i am new to diy.

i have just built an amp with opa541 the circuit is below.
thing is i am using it to power a 12ohm sub. with a power supply of 26-0-26 5amp. i have added a 22k resistance in series with input. and connected a 50ohm resistance from pin1 to ground.

should i make any modifications?

and also is there something more powerful than opa541. yet as simple as opa541.
and which can run on maybe +/- 30 or 40 volts and 2-3amps.

if know it then please post schematics and if possible pcb layout (i am an amateur)

Attachments

• opa541.gif
    opa541.gif
    3 KB · Views: 1,995
well, the lm3886 does boast a litle more power than the opa541, but it's really not a lot to speak of. 10W to the max rating i belive. not a lot when speaking of db..

since this is a subamp, i belive the the place to gain the most from improvements are power suply capasitans. more is better offcource. no less than 20.000uf. (according to me)

-Marius

then which amp do u guys think i should build?
i need a powerful yet simple to build amp.

my problem is that the transformers available over here are become really costly once u go above 5amps, so like 10amp trafos are outa of question. so the think is i need an amp which can run on like 3-5amps and can handle +/- 30-50 volts so that the power supply has a greater 'va' rating.

this time i need it for regular purpose that is 20khz to 20hz or something.

that is to power regular speakers.

and could u also send a schematic for opa549? wut do u think of this chip?

along with a schematic of making it a stereo amp.

i hope i am not askin much. i am an amteur so please bear with me

hey thanks a lot ,

that AN-1192 file is excellent.

thing is i can directly build the circuits given over there, without adding any thing right? i mean the circuits are correct right?