Stk4142ii

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

Panning on starting a new sub amp, and found an STK4142II in an old amp.. thougt it would be good to bridge! BUT... the recomended power supply is 26Vdc+/-.. and all i have is 35Vdc+/-.. the max Vcc on the STK4142II is 39Vdc+/-.. so can I use 35Vdc?

Second thing is that the amp outputs a minimum of 25watts x2 @ 8 ohms.. so at 4 ohms it will be 50watts right? and i wanna bridge it using an 8 ohm driver.. so can i run each amp at a 4 ohm load with 35Vcd? and if i can get hold of a 4 ohm driver can I use it with this amp? Becasue i dont think these amp will handel 2 ohm loads at 35Vdc.. unless i add some extra tansistor 2 the output?

Thanks,
Kinser!

Hello

If you connect 4 Ohm to the output it will not be 50 watt @ 26+/- cuz there are things that I have no idea about till I started studying electronics, I am talking about my self.

The efficiency is 70 % for class B amplifier when connected to 8 Ohm resistor, and 63 % when connected to 4 Ohm resistor, so don't expect to get more the 30 to 35 watt @ 4 Ohm speaker.

Also the impedance of power output transistors plays a considerable role here, when using 4 Ohm speaker the current increases, meaning that I have larger voltage drop across output transistors, limiting the maximum possible output voltage swing, hence limiting the power output.

Regarding how to bridge amplifiers, you better go to :

http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=27465&pagenumber=1

and see you there...

metal,
Im not using 26vdc... i only have 35vdc.. so the output will be abit higher right?
about bridging.. i know how.. i have done it befor..