Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 24th May 2012, 09:49 AM   #3951
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member

Pre,
can I see your science to support your post
Quote:
coloration would be unavoidable as long as there's a cap in c7.
Old 24th May 2012, 10:16 AM   #3952
diyAudio Member

andrew you know im not technically savy
enough to give you a satisfying enough answer.
i was simply stating that under a common knowledge that all caps have a sound.
Old 24th May 2012, 11:28 AM   #3953
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member

I cannot agree with your last statement. I'm even less inclined to accept your contentious statement.
Old 24th May 2012, 11:30 AM   #3954
bcmbob is offline bcmbob  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Transparent or Colored ???

"Do caps have a sound?"

I tried to wrap what's left of my mind around this topic last night as I faded off to sleep. I'm proposing that we might be using the wrong terminology in describing caps.

Particularly with digital sources, there is a constant element , a stream of ones and zeros, that is reliably consistent.

My question is if a component actually changes that base signal or more correctly - all caps and resistors "filter" the stream. A term like coloration could in fact be allowing more of the "juice flavor" in the fruit to flow while, "transparent" could be filtering out the pulp of the juice, resulting what sounds cleaner or more pure.

I think it would be great for someone with sophisticated lab equipment to be able to create a series of spectral graphs as a baseline feed, and then determine visually what a single cap change in an amp truly does, OJ with pulp or something closer to Tang.