My "audiophile" LM3886 approach

I changed the ground for the speaker protection circuit to run more directly to the star point.. :)

Attachments

• pcb.png
    pcb.png
    64.8 KB · Views: 4,040
Russ White said:
I changed the ground for the speaker protection circuit to run more directly to the star point.. :)

Hey Russ, Is there any reason why the track marked in red in the crop below has to be thinned and run around the corner like it does? Why not connect it as per the purple line I have scrawled across your beautiful artwork? :)

(I'm a newb, so feel free to enlighten me :)

Michael

Attachments

• pcb2.png
    pcb2.png
    13.1 KB · Views: 4,082
Russ White said:

maf_au said:

Hey Russ, Is there any reason why the track marked in red in the crop below has to be thinned and run around the corner like it does? Why not connect it as per the purple line I have scrawled across your beautiful artwork? :)

(I'm a newb, so feel free to enlighten me :)

Michael

I did it that way because the two circuits should have different ground zones, so I made the trace for the protection circuit itself terminate as close to the center of the two power caps as possible.

I am not sure if that is necessary or not, but I thought it more closely matched Mauro's guidelines.

I am a Newb too, just very zelous. :D

Russ White said:

I did it that way because the two circuits should have different ground zones, so I made the trace for the protection circuit itself terminate as close to the center of the two power caps as possible.

I am not sure if that is necessary or not, but I thought it more closely matched Mauro's guidelines.

I am a Newb too, just very zelous. :D

Zelous away! I see your previous version was as I suggested - should have looked at that first... Seems there is more to this than meets the eye :)

It's lookin good Russ!

Michael

Re: Feedback please. :)

Russ White said: