My "audiophile" LM3886 approach

Thanks for your prompt replies.
But now I am even in a worst situation than before – I know that something is wrong with my amps and I have no idea what that could be. And I want to find out! What puzzles me most of all – what currents can generate the heat given that all DC voltages are correct, I did not found any oscillations on any pins of the LM318 (and I looked closely!), its load is 47K+22pF? Thermal resistance junction to ambient for HO-8 package is 160C/W, while for dual-in-line package it is 100C/W. Can this be the reason for my problems?

Hi lumumba_p,

Since all three monoblocks have the same problem and you are obviously a careful and experienced builder, it seems to point to the LM 318 package you are using as the culprit. Might be time to revert to the National dip package. I'm no expert, but it may be a good place to start.

My Twisted Pear Rev C Amp has had 13 hours of a 36 hour burn-in with an 8 ohm dummy load with 10W average music signal so far, and all the voltages look ok.

The LM 318 in both monos are only warm.

Hope you solve your problem soon so you can get some sleep.

Regards,

Audie.

lumumba,

My LM318 was part of the Twisted Pear kit.

Would be nice to know an Aussie supplier though.

Nordic's suggestion would not be the best choice, since the Op-Amp he points to is by Texas Instruments and is an LM318P.

You should use a National Semiconductor LM318N as specified for Mauros My Reference. You don't need more trouble than you already have.

You could try Semico Components Pty Ltd at:

http://www.semico.com.au/

They have National Semi. LM318N DIL op amps available. Send a query from their site.
Do not know if they deal with individuals though.

Audie.

billabong said:
lumumba,

My LM318 was part of the Twisted Pear kit.

Would be nice to know an Aussie supplier though.

Nordic's suggestion would not be the best choice, since the Op-Amp he points to is by Texas Instruments and is an LM318P.