I did a search on battery power supplies, but...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I poked around for awhile with the search about battery supplies, but I didn't get exactly what i was looking for.

What are the pros/cons?

Also, what kind of specs do I need for a sealed lead acid batt.

48V (or 2 24v, 4 12v)?
what about Ah ratings? does that mean how many amps the thing can put out in one hour? What do I need for like, 3 hours listen time without the charger on? (not that i have that much time, but I'd rather have too much than not enough)

Sorry that I'm a complete noob at this stuff.

7ah slas are the best and cheapest to find and 4 of those should provide many hours of power.I have 8 of those for dual mono PS and do not need to recharge for days(for a gainclone).Thoroughly recommended - huge difference in sound quality.Some just buy off the shelf chargers and switch them around or make 4 separate regulators per LM317/137 schematics.Ideally you need current and voltage regulation (two regs each batt)but you could manage with just low current regulation.

Thanks for all your quick replies guys...

So for a few hours of listen time, 4 12v 5ah batteries would be 20ah.

Looking over the data sheets at nat. semi. it looks like 48v is a little much? or am i just not knowing how to interpret the graphs. Also, does anyone know the typical current draw these chips produce? (lm3875 in particular)

So for a few hours of listen time, 4 12v 5ah batteries would be 20ah.

Looking over the data sheets at nat. semi. it looks like 48v is a little much?

Not quite - you use 2 batteries per channel (for a stereo gainclone) to give +/- 24V per channel. Each battery will still give 5 amps per hour.

Have a look at this thread for a quick start:

click here

I have used batteries in a phono stage and they do give a very smooth sound.

This graph shows available power levels:

Attachments

• graph.gif