Have anybody used Scanspeak drivers with Gain clone amplifier? tell me how it is...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
i want to use the scanspeak drivers with gain clone...
Go right ahead..... It's a great combination. I would recommend sticking with the 8 ohm's drivers, though. Makes the life of your gainclone somewhat easier;) I have been driving Proac Response 2.5 clones with at least 5 chipamps and was not at all disapointed. Good luck.

Steen.

steenoe said:
Short answer: No.
If you aim at top drivers like that, you would probably be better off in the Passlabs section of this forum;)
I'm curious, do you say that because of how a well-designed gainclone sounds compared to a well-designed class A amp, or because of power handling problems? I have no real experience with class A amps (i've heard a few nicer ones, but I've never owned or built one) so I have no real way to judge how they sound.

The reason I ask is because there are several very popular class A topologies that are around 30-40W, so not terribly more dynamic than a single chip inverted gainclone. Would you still say they work better with a fancy set of tweeters? I am not under any circumstances trying to turn this into a chipamp vs. class A debate. :hot: I am merely curious if this is simply a power thing, or something more complicated. :confused:

What I said was based entirely on listening, nothing else:)
Having been through a good deal of comparisons of amps, I have a feeling the GC is not quite up there with the best. But who would expect that? Talking about value for your bucks, not much beats the GC. Especially if it is a "CC" (As Marius coined the CarlosFM clone) The best sounding version to my ears so far.
But that was not the point. This DIY'er seems to want some really expensive speakers, and I think he would be shooting bugs with a canon, driving them with a GC.

Steen.

steenoe said: