Good replacment for BB OPA 2604/604

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
If you just stick in a 2134, chances are it will work fine. If it gets too hot to touch its oscillating, and needs attention to bypassing.

A small poly cap across the supply rails would be a useful safety measure, but may not be required. Better bypassing may lead to better sound.....;)

safetyman said:
Sorry guys, all this sounds like Greek to me.:confused: I am a noob and wouldn't have an idea where to begin. You guys think that I shouldn't just swap the OPA 2604 with the OPA 2132 or 2134? Originally, t came with an OPA 7??. I have forgotten the number, and the manufacturer suggested to switch to the OPA 2604. I did, it's nice but found the mid section rather glaring. Wanted to see if there were other chips that would make it sound better.
Swaping those opamps around seems to me pretty harmless but if you only are swapping opamps and not examine the rest I'm pretty sure you will never be satisfied.

Safetyman, you must measure the voltage on the op-amp pins to check if the op-amp is working on single supply.
If you have continuity between pin 4 and ground, it's single supply.
In that case, PSU bypassing will be different, more simple.
But you need to give us clues, otherwise we don't know what we are talking about, it's just suggestions.

Open the amp, you have work to do. :smash:

Chipmaster Carlos. :D Firstly, on the weekend I'll try to get a pic of the amp, and where the pair of opamps sit. Then I'll post up for my masters to guide me. :D This should be interesting. :D Is there anyway to implement a LM3886 into a car environment? :D Keeping my fingers crossed. My car system is not built for SPL but more for SQ. Suggestions, please.