DVD or CD player conected directly to Gainclone? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 24th October 2004, 05:20 PM   #1
captain is offline captain  United States
diyAudio Member

Default DVD or CD player conected directly to Gainclone?

I am new to all this. I am in the early stages of a LM4783 Gainclone project. I plan to use two 12-volt lead acid batteries connected in series giving +12/-12 rails. I want the Gainclone connected directly to a DVD (or CD) player using the "LINE OUT L/R" (line level) connectors on the back of the DVD.

Since "volume control" is not an option on most DVD remotes I need the volume to be handled somewhere between DVD and GainClone. I want to use a "LM1973 attenuator" tied to a "micro controller" to do volume control with a separate "universal IR remote".

However, this raises the following assumptions and questions:

Assumptions:
1. I assume that most CD recordings are laid down within certain "DB Levels" so that the listener is not having to constantly fiddle with volume from one CD to the next. (Although there seems to be exceptions.)

Questions:
1. Is there normally (or always) something that has to sit between the "LINE LEVEL SOURCE" and the "power amplifer"?
In other words, some "middle amplification stage" that needs to "boost" the signal before doing the "volume control"...and ultimately feeding the "power-amp stage"?