Newbie: Surround Amp OZ - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 6th July 2004, 06:59 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Smile Newbie: Surround Amp OZ

Hi All

I am new to chip-amps, all looks great though!

I want to build a bunch of amps I will be feeding them from a audigy2 soundcard, but want the best to allow for future expansion. The speakers are no name Dick Smith with the exception of the centre which is a wharfedale, I plan to upgrade all this gradually.

My original plan is for 5 single channel 50W amplifiers with separate power supplies and an 150W+ amplifier to drive a large passive subwoofer.

Problem is I have limited electronics knowledge, my soldering is OK but I wouldn't know where to start making a PCB, I have used breadboards though.

So I am just looking for advice, pre-etched PCBs I can buy, tips, tricks...I have searched the forums lots of good advice I have figured I need some National LMxxxx chips and Toroidal Transformers...

I am in Sydney, Australia so good sources of parts here would help. I can spend up to $500 Australian ($350USD).

Thanks in advance for all your help.

Cheers
Richard
Old 6th July 2004, 10:10 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Richard,

This sounds similar to what I have nearly finished building...(waiting for the last 2 channels to arrive...) it's a 6 channel amp based on BrianGT's Premium kits, (although the standard kit would work be pretty well too).

see http://www.briangt.com/order for ordering information

once you have the kits you will just need transformer(s), an enclosure, connectors and wire.....

Dick Smith sell most of this stuff, but Jaycar generally have a better selection. -- see http://www.jaycar.com.au