TDA7293v Parrallel / Bridge Application Theory and Concepts

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Ok, so here's the deal. I love audio, and I recently came across this TDA7293v chip amp. I have lots of experience with lm3886 and I am also building a discrete amplifier from Anthony Holten's webpage, the AV800, nice amp! www.aussieamplifiers.com.

Anyway my real question is this, does anyone have any experience with paralleling more then 2 slaves with the TDA7293v?

I am thinking about using 1 master and 3 slaves in a single sided amplifier using current sharing resistors and a zobel network on the output. I would like to run the rails at the +/- 50VDC maximum rating.

After I have constructed the single sided amp mentioned above I plan to take (2) of these, run one with a non-inverted input and the second with an inverted input and use the two amplifiers in a BTL configuration.

Anyone think it's doable? Or am I asking for trouble, any advice?

I KNOW, IT'S TOO MUCH POWER, BUT SOUNDS LIKE FUN TO ME!

Attachments

• tda7293 reva.zip
    41.3 KB · Views: 250
Paralleling 4 chips is very hard for routing. Believe me. I tried.

I know that Quekky (also member of this forum) has made amp with 3 chips in parallel and it works well (but he uses double sided PCB).
Linn also uses 3 chips in parallel in his Klimax Twin amplifier (9000$)

Some people say that it isn't possible to parallel more than 3 chips. Maybe no one has ever tried that because of complexity of routing :)
Unless you want to drive very low impedance speakers there is no need for paralleling so many chips. Try to bridge pair of 2 paralleled chips. They will give you 400W into 4ohms (350W undistorted power).

Or if you want more power maybe you could bridge 2 pairs of 3 paralleled chips to get 600W:) I think You would be the first who have done that. But be prepaired for possible failure.