Transformer VA Rating vs. Current Rating

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello..

Sorry for this stupid question.. I'm just a newbie in electronics my questions are:

In my country when i buy a transformer i can only get an EI laminated tranformer and the only rating i know about the trafo is their current rating.

Can someone explain to me the equivalent rating between Current and the VA value of a transformer?

I have plans to build a gainclone, a Bridge parallel of OPA541/549(2 chips per sides) for 1 channel. What sould be the VA/Current rating of the trafo?
:xeye:

VA rating is (V*V)/R at the secondary side.

The current is V/R this is valid for RESISTIVE load.

If you rectify and add smoothing caps the VA rating will drop. If you have a huge cap battery the VA will drop to half but as an average value the VA or DC watt out will be 0.9-0.7 of the VA of the transformer.

100VA => 90-70 watts DC continuously

100 VA + 100 000 uF => 50 watts or so out

The VA rating is also dependent how you plan to use the amp. It's only about the temperature inside the transformer. When you have reached 105 deg C inside a toroid transformer you have reached the max VA out take.

In your case I'll believe 150-300 VA is normal if you are going to use the amp at home.

hi,
i know what you mean, the current rating as stated on the traffo has no meaning to me....

for gainclones, you can use 12-0-12 or 24-0-24 traffos, like those off deeco in raon...you can choose one that used a 1 1/4 in center leg....

for a bridged type gainclone, you can use two traffos, 12-0-12 and bridge rectify them to have separate plus and minus 35vdc rails....

http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=30760&perpage=15&pagenumber=5

tony

peranders said:
In your case I'll believe 150-300 VA is normal if you are going to use the amp at home.