Transformer VA Rating vs. Current Rating - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 18th May 2004, 08:36 AM   #1
JhonDoe is offline JhonDoe  Philippines
diyAudio Member

Default Transformer VA Rating vs. Current Rating

Hello..

Sorry for this stupid question.. I'm just a newbie in electronics my questions are:

In my country when i buy a transformer i can only get an EI laminated tranformer and the only rating i know about the trafo is their current rating.

Can someone explain to me the equivalent rating between Current and the VA value of a transformer?

I have plans to build a gainclone, a Bridge parallel of OPA541/549(2 chips per sides) for 1 channel. What sould be the VA/Current rating of the trafo?
Old 18th May 2004, 08:56 AM   #2
Electrons are yellow and more is better!
diyAudio Member

VA rating is (V*V)/R at the secondary side.

The current is V/R this is valid for RESISTIVE load.

If you rectify and add smoothing caps the VA rating will drop. If you have a huge cap battery the VA will drop to half but as an average value the VA or DC watt out will be 0.9-0.7 of the VA of the transformer.

100VA => 90-70 watts DC continuously

100 VA + 100 000 uF => 50 watts or so out

The VA rating is also dependent how you plan to use the amp. It's only about the temperature inside the transformer. When you have reached 105 deg C inside a toroid transformer you have reached the max VA out take.

In your case I'll believe 150-300 VA is normal if you are going to use the amp at home.
Old 18th May 2004, 09:11 AM   #3
AJT is offline AJT  Philippines
diyAudio Moderator

hi,
i know what you mean, the current rating as stated on the traffo has no meaning to me....