I'm going to be diving in, first time

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello folks. I've been lurking for a while and am getting myself psyched up for my first amp project. I have been doing diy speakers and subwoofers for several years. I intend to do a simple diy speaker build with my 4 year old daughter and will be needing some amplification so I figured why not go the diy route. I have not decided on which chip to use yet,, I'm wide open to suggestions, a kit would be convenient but a pcb with good documentation will be fine. It seems like there are tons of resources and threads for the various chips available. I'm looking forward to getting into a new diy hobby

Welcome to DIY,

We are here to give you advise if you like and your daughter can assist in making sure our advises are properly followed.:p
Anyway, if the kids have to start at the age of four to become top golf or tennis players, why not in DIY electronics.

For us to give you best advise, it would be useful to know:
1) The intended output power of the amplifier (and speaker specifications - 4/8 Ohm)?
2) The budget you are prepared to be spend on the project?
3) If you have any preferences for a power supply?
4) If you have preferences for class AB or D?
5) The use of the speaker and amplifier (in your daughters room? In your living room? Portable?)?
6) The source of music for the amplifier?

Thanks for the response.
The speakers I'll build will be a simple kit,, overnight sensations or tri trix vented ,, I've built several of the tri trix and I'm leaning towards them simply for the better low end.,,both options are 8 ohm and if I could get 50wpc I'd be satisfied.

The "system" will likely end up in our family room which is pretty much the majority play room.
For this first endeavor I'll like to keep my budget low,, $100-$200ish,, going beyond that wouldn't scare me away.
I have no class preference at this time.