Any advantage to make dual mono (PSU) for the gainclone (I'm ordering Brian GT's kit)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

I'm new at the gainclone. That's why for the shortcut, I order Brian GT's board+kit.

Will there be any advantage to make dual mono power supply for the gainclone kind of amp? (popular approach on the common solid state amp)

Also, currently I have an average 4-ohm load speaker (min is 3.9 ohm), what transformer voltage/power rating is the best for this load? (value before the rectifier)

What if next time I change my speaker to 8-ohm one, do I need to change the transformer, to get optimum result with this load?

Of course my questions above are for 'soundwise' decission. And I understand that 'best' and 'optimum' is subjective person-to-person.

So I would really appreciate for any opinions.

Regards,
---
David A.W.

Selamat Pagi David,

If you spent the rest of your life reading through this part of the forum, you would still not have a definitive answer ;)

Some like separate PSU's for each channel, some a single one.

I have tried both and can't honestly decide which I like best.

If you use transformers of at least 160VA rating, you could build two PSU's either of which would be capable of powering a Gainclone. You would then have the choice of trying one or two.

As regards the speaker impedance, if you use transformers with 18 volt secondaries they will do for both 8 and 4 ohm speakers.

My ten pence worth: Dual mono psu will give a more forceful sound that will fill a big room but could get a bit harsh. One transformer will probably give you a softer sound (easier listening ;) ) and personally I prefer that. I don't notice any difference in sound quality between having an integrated psu (in the amp case) or a separate psu connected to the amp with a cable.