Resistor tolerance on Chipamp.com LM3886 boards

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everyone:

Complete newbie here. No knowledge of electronics, really. I want to substitute Rf, R2 and R3 on the Chipamp.com LM3886 dual mono boards. I believe the R2 resistors I received with the kit were 1%, but then again, they were 22.1K and the schematic shows 22K.

I'm ready to buy new resistors, but what tolerance should I use for Rf, R2 and R3. The reason I ask is that retailers near me, and the usual online retailers (DigiKey, Mouser and a local one) do not have anything better than 5% components. Oh, and while I'm at it, will 1W resistors fare well, or should I hold out for 2W resistors.

Thanks

Last edited:
I'd prefer to use 1% metal film; 5% are almost certainly carbon film, so of (slightly) lower quality. The suppliers you mention all have 1% metal film resistors in abundance. In the feedback circuit, I like to use .1% or better bulk foil resistors though they are very expensive.

A 2 watt resistor will probably run (a little bit) cooler than a 1 watt. But if the application calls for a quarter watt resistor at that point, a 2 watt resistor probably won't physically fit. There's little point in going for the larger size.

PRR

Joined 2003
Paid Member
{snip}...I believe the R2 resistors I received with the kit were 1%, but then again, they were 22.1K and the schematic shows 22K. ...what tolerance should I use for Rf, R2 and R3.... should I hold out for 2W resistors.

You could use 20% resistors, if they were still around, if they were not junk; and 0.03Watts is ample.

BTW, all the resistors INside the chip are +/-30% tolerance, and it works fine.

"22K" is in the 10% series. There is an old trick, when you want a higher precision, of never saying "22K" but "22.1K". This is so your factory workers won't stuff 22K 10%, but have to look for the 22.1K parts.