Mod-286 build thread

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Dear Neurochrome Modulus-286 builders

After there is already a thread for the Mod-86 I thought for the sake of clarity I open a separate one for the Mod-286. Tom and / or the moderators please let me know whether you rather want that content somewhere else.

Other than that I am about to start my second ever Audio DIY project. I intend to build two Modulus-286 as Monoblocks to drive my KEFsR700 while being fed directly from the balanced output of my Auralic Altair.

The boards from Tom arrived in mint condition and I already got the parts from Mouser and therefore I am about to get started.

As I am new to SMD soldering, I got one of these practice kits on ebay, which Bill in another thread recommended and I watched some YouTube videos.

However I have my first choice to make. Which solder to use? Currently I have two solders at home. One with Pb another with Ag? I'd go with the Ag one or is the melting temp too high for some of the ICs?

Thx
SH

Attachments

• IMG_2039.jpg
    IMG_2039.jpg
    993.7 KB · Views: 1,238
  • IMG_2040.jpg
    IMG_2040.jpg
    985.3 KB · Views: 1,192
Practice kits are a good idea. Either solder should work just fine. It does take a higher temperature to do the Pb-free solder, but as long as your soldering iron has a way to adjust the temperature, you should be fine. The bigger heat risk is from bad technique -- heating for too long or repeated applications of heat. My own preference is for eutectic lead-bearing solder, like your Sn60Pb38Cu2 as it has worked well for me with less issues/hassles than the various Pb-free solders.

Tom has some good soldering info on his site.

Hi