Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 29th March 2004, 02:36 AM   #101
diyAudio Member
 
Peter Daniel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Send a message via AIM to Peter Daniel
I didn't really make any direct comparisons between one and two transformers, but it seems to me that two separate add more soundstage. That's how monoblocks "feel" comparing to stereo amp.

One way to have the best of both worlds is to build two stereo amps and use them as monoblocks for biamping each channel. That's what I'm planning on doing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2004, 02:50 AM   #102
Illusus is offline Illusus  Canada
diyAudio Member
 
Illusus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Prairie Wasteland, Canada
I have been converted to die hard full ranger relatively recently, biamping, although a great idea, will not work in my case. I may at a later point in time add a pair of supertweeters to my speakers, maybe then...
Waht if I built two stereo amps and added a bridging circuit that could be switched out when needed?
__________________
Fighting the program since 1976.
  Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2004, 02:56 AM   #103
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Oregon, USA
More pictures.

The transformer primaries hooked up to the switch/fuse/IEC connector:

Click the image to open in full size.

The rectifier board connected:

Click the image to open in full size.

The audio boards mounted on the side panel. Space was tight

Click the image to open in full size.

Closeup of one audio board:

Click the image to open in full size.

And finally, everything stuffed inside the enclosure. The wiring's a mess, but the hum/noise is pretty low (inaudible 3' from my 96dB speakers). I tried to keep the power supply wires to one side (left and bottom in the photo) and the audio wires on the other side (top and right).

Click the image to open in full size.

Alright, that completes my amp and the pictures. Where are the others?
  Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2004, 03:00 PM   #104
diyAudio Member
 
Peter Daniel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Send a message via AIM to Peter Daniel
Here's another way to create self contained modules, taking care of attaching the board and power connection. All you need is to attach transformer and inputs/outputs.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg mod.jpg (58.8 KB, 1513 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2004, 03:35 PM   #105
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA, US
Send a message via ICQ to tpenguin Send a message via AIM to tpenguin Send a message via Yahoo to tpenguin
Quote:
Originally posted by Peter Daniel
Here's another way to create self contained modules, taking care of attaching the board and power connection. All you need is to attach transformer and inputs/outputs.
What? Are those Panasonic caps I see on Peter's boards? That is a pretty clever idea, though. Can you come up with something similar using two boards for a modular multi-channel/bridged amp?
  Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2004, 03:57 PM   #106
diyAudio Member
 
Peter Daniel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Send a message via AIM to Peter Daniel
Those are Brian's boards not mine. BG don't fit on those

But seriously, this is a module for powered speaker, they wanted cheaper caps.

Besides, those Panasonics sound pretty good.
  Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2004, 04:07 PM   #107
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Oregon, USA
That is really clever. And quite a contrast with my wiring mess
  Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2004, 05:25 PM   #108
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: utrecht
Default Utrecht (the Neteherlands) late in supply

As I read this thread I do notice that I am not the only one in Utrecht looking foreward to the kit.

THe waiting time does bring beautifull creativity to housing designs. I have a few pages of notepad myself by now, but I do see great ideas.

Did anyone find out what type of linear (displacement) pot/system the original 47labs is using?

I wonder, my DIY experience only restarted recentley with the repair of my CD80, but back in the early eighties you could not find a good word for linear displacement pots.

It could be that they use rotary with a nylon thread or so (Like my first B&O).
On the other hand there are still a lot lin. displ pots used in studio type equipment.

Any guesses or ideas are welcome. It would broaden also my sketching options for housing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2004, 06:51 PM   #109
matjans is offline matjans  Netherlands
diyAudio Member
 
matjans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Utrecht, NL
Send a message via MSN to matjans
ik zit in utrecht en heb ze vandaag gekregen!
__________________
Si fractum non sit, noli id reficere!
  Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2004, 08:19 PM   #110
idex is offline idex  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: USA
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:41 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2