1930s Philco Radio Project Modernized

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have an old tombstone philco radio cabnet that I want to put a pair of small 4 inch speakers in and a modern amp that I can plug my turntable and or phone into. I want to use the 4 existing knob holes for the amp pots or switch or light or something. I have never done a project like this so I am having trouble figuring out what parts I need to buy. So I was hoping you folks could point me in the right dirrection for components.

I was looking at chip boards but I am worried the potentiomiters wont match the holes in the cabnet. So I thought Id get new pots and run wires to the board, but how do you know what pots to buy? Or which chip for that matter. Im really new to this.

I was also thinking about getting one of those Lepai la-2020a amps and taking it out of the case and putting wire extentions on the pots to match the holes in the radio cabnet. Would that work?

Has anyone done a project like this before that can help point me in the right dirrection to get started. Where to learn the basics and what parts to get. Thank you much!

First you disclose what country you are in, so vendor recommendations can be specific. Crossing a border or ocean can be expensive. Putting a location in your user profile is the best way to communicate this.
Second you pick a driver (speaker), with an impedance and a rated wattage. Two of them double the wattage required and halve the impedance if you hook them in parallel.
Thirdly you pick class D (cheap but requires RF shielding to not howl into everything else within 13m) or class AB amp (requires heat management).