Newbee build: PA03 amp (LM4780)

For more than a year now I'm lurking in the Diyaudo forums and am highly impressed by the amps some people design and/or build. The more I read the more I wanted to build an amp with my own hands. I have no electronics background but am aware of some basic principles.

Question was what amp to start with. At first I thought well let's take on one of the - let me call them - "evergreen amps". such as the Symasym or Rod Elliots P3A. Then came along a group buy of the PA03 organised by peranders (sjostromaudio.com).

The PA03 is a LM4780 stereo amp designed by a well known Czech developer Pavel Dudek (nickname: Upopa Epops). Peranders offered (and offers) a very high quality pcb for this amp. The board is a kind of all in one solution as the power supply is included on the board and all you have to do is populate the board. Connect a transformer, hook up your audio gear and off you go.

Well that's the theory. But I soon discovered that there is more to it than that. But my mind was set, my first amp had to be the PA03. For technical details about the amp I refer to the website mentioned before.

In several posts I like to show the progress in this build, I think it will take a few weeks to complete the amp. As a newb I like to learn from comments on the build and perhaps get an answer from more experienced readers when I'm stuck. At the same time I hope to be able to show other starters that is is possible to build your own amp.(At least that's the idea !!!!!). Another reason to show my build here is a post in the Group Buys section by Upopa Epops, the designer of the PA03 in which he complained about the lack of response from builders of his design.