Overheating and voltage issues - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Old 22nd September 2015, 05:17 AM   #1
Hogwild is offline Hogwild  Canada
diyAudio Member
Unhappy Overheating and voltage issues

Hi everyone:

Electronics newbie here, with soldering skills, and some ability to use a meter. Assume nothing more in terms of knowledge. This stuff confuses the daylights out of me, so please be patient.

I finished soldering four Chipamp.com LM3886 amp boards and one pair of same company's PSU boards.

A friend helped me test three of the four amp boards and one of the PSU boards with a True RMS meter. Something is very wrong.

Transformer used: 300VA 18.00V dual secondary toroidal.
PSU board A: measured approx. 27V DC stable on both rails (under no load). OK, not too bad.

It appears that when the circuit is turned off then on again, we blew fuses.

First two amp boards (I soldered)
Amp board 1. Output 2V AC with no input.
Amp board 2. Output 5V AC with no input. Sometimes peaked as high as 16V AC with no load.

Frequency checks on amp board (2.) were all over the place.

Connecting either amp board to a speaker resulted in a bad hum which sounded like AC. However, the metered frequency was all over the place.

Amp board 2. heatsink got quite hot. It was only on for about 30 seconds, but took about 15 minutes to cool down.

Amp board 3. (soldered by someone else.) It seemed to display voltage measurement problems similar to the other two, but the heatsink remained cool. It also showed hum on the output. Third power on for that board blew a 2A fuse.

Scoping is not practical at the moment due to heat concerns after only a few seconds.

My friend also has only an analog scope, not one with storage.