Noob question about power supplies for bi-amped system

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, I'm planning a 2-way bi-amped system using a mini-dsp. The amp box will contain a mini-dsp, preamp/tone control board, power supply(ies) and amp(s). I was advised to avoid running two different amp boards from one power supply. I'm expecting a crossover frequency around 500 Hz, so I'll need a bigger amp for the bass drivers than the midtweeters. Can I use two different power supplies, one for each amp, and use only one a/c input? How does that go together? I don't want to have to plug it in twice...

Sorry if my question is too basic--this is my first project involving electronics.

You really don't need two complete separate power supplies. Using a single transformer of adequate power with one bridge rectifier and filter caps for each amplifier channel works just fine. Minimizing crosstalk is usually determined more by the wiring and layout than anything else.

Mike

Last edited:
For better crosstalk supression you should use two PSUs.

Have you measured this?
How much is the crosstalk improved by having separate PSU's?

I would really like to know.

Allowing for the very high power supply rejection ratio, the "improvement" will be at best minimal and then only at very low frequencies where crosstalk is irrelevant.
I don't have any "noticeable" crosstalk due to a common power supply in my amp.

Frank

allso, for the same money as 2, or 3 smaller powersupplys one can go for a far bigger one.
bigger does not automaticly makes it all that better, but still i'd prefer something that can push those OOOOMPS when needed.
a larger powersupply can safely support a larger bank of reservoir capacitors.
that makes a difference up to a point.

the more detail you provide the better info can be given. this is a bit much for your 1st foray into "electronics":p