LM3875 separate chassis ground

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

First of all, this is my first post here. I am fairly new in amp building. The LM3875 from Peter (audiosector.com) will be my first project.

As background in electronics, I've done a few guitar fx pedals but nothing more.

So, I didn't receive my kit yet but I am trying to put all the pieces in the right place before I start. I haven't decided yet but I maybe planning to separate the power supply from the amp.

That is where my question goes... is it necessary to run the ground (protective earth) from the power supply to the amp chassis? see the picture

I've seen setup that this is not done but I've read somewhere that it should be there... I'm confuse.

Thanks all for your input,

yan

Attachments

• lm3875 Separate Box Wiring_question.jpg
    lm3875 Separate Box Wiring_question.jpg
    784.1 KB · Views: 373
...is it necessary to run the ground (protective earth) from the power supply to the amp chassis?

It sure is. For one thing, a metal enclosure is not a fully effective RF (radio frequency) shield unless it's grounded ("bonded to ground"). For another, electrical codes require that any metal accessible to a user must be grounded for safety. I don't know what the actual legal liability situation might be in Canada, but I can't think you'd want to be a test case. And then, kids do get into everything.

Posted below is my understanding of "the way you do it." The chassis bond located right next to the audio input might appear exactly wrong at first, but it's from Douglas Self's "Audio Power Amplifier Design Handbook," page 402. He says: