Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 15th January 2004, 05:02 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Question Seeking gold, ganged RCA panel jacks:

Anyone know where I can find ganged (2, 4, or 6) gold RCA panel jacks that are mounted on a piece of plastic with two screw holes for mounting on a panel?

The 3/16" thickness of most of the singles doesn't help me much. I am building a GC enclosure out of solid oak. My walls won't be very strong @ < 3/16".

(Like my headphone amp, linked here

My new baby

If anyone knows of any deep-mount singles, that'd be cool, too.

In a pinch, I suppose I could make them. But I am not very good at plastic/metal work.

What I am looking for is just like the "dual RCA jack" at the bottom of the link, but with better quality jacks:

http://www.wytekdirect.com/Audio/rca..._and_jacks.htm

Muchas Gracias.

GnD
Old 16th January 2004, 02:46 PM   #2
Morse is offline Morse  United States
diyAudio Member

Hello Grahamn;

I've run into the same problem ("short" components with thick wood chassis) and now use 1/8" thick aluminium sheet stock as "mounting plates". Just buy some 2" wide (or 3" wide or whatever) stock and cut off the right length with a conventional saw and mitre box. Then round the corners using a file and drill holes using a punch to establish centre and a conventional power drill (you do need to clamp the piece down to a scrap piece of wood - otherwise it's got a tendency for the drill to "screw it's way through the wood", which makes it hard to control).

Don't know if this is what you're after, but it's just a thought.

Good luck with it!
Ja mata,
Morse
Attached Images
File Type: jpg gnat back.jpg (35.6 KB, 208 views)
Old 16th January 2004, 02:59 PM   #3
dhaen is offline dhaen  Europe
diyAudio Moderator Emeritus