Lm3886 PCB design - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 16th August 2014, 04:26 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Lm3886 PCB design

Hello all,

I've been looking for a well designed PCB layout for the lm3886. I haven't downloaded any software to design my own as I'm just starting out and just want to see if my basic method for creating the pcb works before I go any farther with the process. I don't have a laser printer or any other fancy devices to create one so I plan on drawing the layout with a waterproof marker, use some etching solution, and then use nail polish remover to finish the job.

Here's a layout that I think I want to try, however, I don't see a mute switch included, unless I have overlooked it. Any input or other pcb layout would be greatly appreciated.
Click the image to open in full size.
http://diygainclone.blogspot.com/201...er-supply.html

Last edited by chasebank; 18th August 2014 at 12:07 AM. Reason: image fix
Old 17th August 2014, 09:33 AM   #2
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member

I can't see your attachment.

All the wiring coming to your chipamp must arrive as twisted pairs or twisted triplets.
The traces that carry these currents to the chip MUST maintain close coupling.
i.e. the signal input from the twisted pair to the +IN and -IN pins must remain VERY CLOSE together to minimise LOOP AREA.
This must include the few components forming the two input filters.

The Power triplet of -ve, PG and +ve must remain close coupled from the twisted triplet all the way to the to +ve pins and the -ve pin.
The Cs MUST stay close to the -ve and +ve pins and connect to the third trace of the close coupled triplet.

etc .....

Last edited by AndrewT; 17th August 2014 at 09:39 AM.