Gainclone Semi-Ultimate and Foreplay III

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am a novice at DIY. I am just learning electronics. I had previously built a Foreplay III, and want to build a gainclone and use the Foreplay as line stage. It will be ugly ;) (yes, there are some on this site who can only afford a recycled VCR case to enclose a project), but I hope that it will work.

As a newbie to DIY, I don't know the fine points of combining chipamps and tubes. I understand that there are potential problems with this combination. Is there anything that I need to know about?

Thanks for your patience with a newbie.

Bill

Attachments

• ForeplayIII.PDF
    24.6 KB · Views: 211
  • GaincloneSchematic.doc
    40 KB · Views: 216
Well, my post has been up for a few days and no one has responded. I hope that means that there is no problem with my proposed set up. Some of the information I have been reading has mentioned something about impedance matching problems when using tube pre-amp/line stage. This is a concept that I (very much a newbie) have yet to master. In any case, I will plan on using the Foreplay III, and forgo the hassle of installing two potentiometers.

Thanks to all who read my post!

Bill

I can't open your gainclone file but I do know what a gainclone is.

The "Foreplay" circuit is capacitor coupled so that avoids one potential problem.

You need to configure your gainclone so it has a fairly high input impedance. 10K is typical for solid state but tube circuits usually employ higher impedances, with good reason. You should configure your gainclone circuit so it's 47K input impedance minimum; 100K would probably be better.