LM741 and RF NOISE!!! - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 8th January 2004, 02:43 AM   #1
nfway is offline nfway  United States
diyAudio Member

Default LM741 and RF NOISE!!!

Hello,

I'm fairly new to the world of electronics, and I'm doing the best I can here, but I'm stuck, and cannot find a way out.

I have added a very basic preamp to my homebuilt guitar amp (based on the Hitachi HA13118 BTL Amp Chip) to boost input signal, but now that I have the right amount of signal, I have tons of RF noise, and no amount of shielding eliminates the problem. I sometimes even pick up radio stations.

Is there any way of eliminating all this RF in my circuit so that I can still keep the gain/output the way it is? Maybe use a different OPAMP?? I'm so confused! The sound is perfect otherwise... if I could only remove the buzz.

My basic preamp curcuit:
Click the image to open in full size.

I have additionally tried to use a non-inverting setup with the LM741, and this just does not work. All I get is a pulsating. very upset speaker output, and no audio. I'm not really sure why this is happening, but it also happens when I try the same setup with a TL082.

Any help would be so very much appreciated.

thanks,
N
Old 8th January 2004, 04:14 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Are you using a positive and negative supply with that? it looks like the negative supply is just going to ground.

741 is very old OpAmp design, I think there are a lot better ones now.

I made a wah wah for my brother with one once about 20 years ago and it was pretty noisy, he liked it though
Old 8th January 2004, 04:42 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Apologies. I should have said that earlier. I am using a single 12V supply.