LM741 and RF NOISE!!!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,

I'm fairly new to the world of electronics, and I'm doing the best I can here, but I'm stuck, and cannot find a way out.

I have added a very basic preamp to my homebuilt guitar amp (based on the Hitachi HA13118 BTL Amp Chip) to boost input signal, but now that I have the right amount of signal, I have tons of RF noise, and no amount of shielding eliminates the problem. I sometimes even pick up radio stations.

Is there any way of eliminating all this RF in my circuit so that I can still keep the gain/output the way it is? Maybe use a different OPAMP?? I'm so confused! The sound is perfect otherwise... if I could only remove the buzz.

My basic preamp curcuit:
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

I have additionally tried to use a non-inverting setup with the LM741, and this just does not work. All I get is a pulsating. very upset speaker output, and no audio. I'm not really sure why this is happening, but it also happens when I try the same setup with a TL082.

Any help would be so very much appreciated.

thanks,
N

Are you using a positive and negative supply with that? it looks like the negative supply is just going to ground.

741 is very old OpAmp design, I think there are a lot better ones now.

I made a wah wah for my brother with one once about 20 years ago and it was pretty noisy, he liked it though :)

I've tried that, but the second I do, I get a heavy pulsating in the speaker for about 3 seconds. Once the pulsating stops I tried the guitar, and I get a very reduced output.

The only way I get the output desired is through the circuit in my earlier post, albeit with the nasty noise.

Connecting pin 3 to "pseudo ground" created by the voltage divider circuit of 2 - 10K resistors gives me constant pulsating in the speaker with no audio.