How do I wire this Toroidal Transformer to LM3875 kit from Audiosector?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Assembling my first LM3875 kit from Audiosector, some advice needed..

Hi Guys,
After luring around these forums, I finally got myself a LM3875 Kit from audiosector. However, I am a complete noob and never built an amp before. I have managed to get the Kits Assembled after referring to the guides.

However, I am completely stuck with this Toroidal Transformer thingy. I am in UK. Here is a pic of all the wires etc. How do I wire it? What goes to the mains and what goes to the Amp? (sorry, I have checked the guides but still being a bit thick)

Can someone help me with the wiring please?

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Last edited:
Ex-Moderator R.I.P.
Joined 2005

Attachments

• trafo.jpg
    trafo.jpg
    214.7 KB · Views: 331
Primary (mains)
Tie gray and violet together to set the transformer for 240v mains, and then blue and brown are the mains input.
Attach earth ground to metal amplifier enclosure.

Secondaries (to bridge rectifier):
Use black and red for AC1
Use orange and yellow for AC2

Using a voltmeter, test everything you can think of per safety. See also, Decibel Dungeon Building a Gainclone chip amp power supply. <--link

the colour coding on the transformer is all quite clear.

The left side is mains or primary.
The red shorting link converts the dual primary to series connected.
That makes it suitable for the 230Vac available in Europe.
The Blu and Brn are the standard colours for mains wiring.

The 8 diodes on the rectifier PCB confirm that the poster has a dual bridge rectifier PSU.
He must keep the dual secondaries separate. There is NO CENTRE TAP.
As stated by Daniel and quoted by you
Use black and red for AC1