Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 8th February 2014, 07:54 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Help with LM4766

Hi,

I want to make an amp with the LM4766 chip(2x40W). I've read in the data sheet that I need to power it with a -/+30V voltage. Since it is my first project I don't really know what transformer should I use. I was thinking of a transformer with two voltages of 30V, but what power rating should it have?

As an example, this is what i have in mind
TST160/016 INDEL - Transformer: toroidal | TME - Electronic components

is it any good?
Old 9th February 2014, 03:24 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

This transformer is not suitable, as will +-42V and is greater than the maximum power supply suitable transformer ~ 2x18V . http://www.tme.eu/en/details/55152-p...630954a8cee779

Last edited by rulez alex; 9th February 2014 at 03:32 AM.
Old 9th February 2014, 03:30 AM   #3
Mihkus is online now Mihkus  Estonia
diyAudio Member

Voltage is being amplified by 1,414 after filtering...
So for around 30V DC you need 30/1,414=~21,2V AC
But whats the resistance of the speakers your going to drive with this amp?
I belive you have to reduce the supply voltage.
Maybe for 4 ohm Id choose dual 15V and for 8 ohms Id go for 20V AC
And yes, you need 2 voltages. like 2x20 20-0-20
But you should check page 14 on datasheet it shows you what you need to know..
Ive built one of those... It started smoking at 4 ohms -+28V so... It cannot dissipate all that heat.
Old 9th February 2014, 08:37 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mihkus View Post
Voltage is being amplified by 1,414 after filtering...
So for around 30V DC you need 30/1,414=~21,2V AC
But whats the resistance of the speakers your going to drive with this amp?