Specific Transformer Question

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everyone, I'm planning on building a GainClone.

The first thing i'm working on is transformer selection. I happen to have come across a transformer at work, but no one knows anything about it. I'm new to transformers so I don't know if it's center tapped or what. Here's what it looks like:

3.75'' tall, 4.5'' wide, 3.5'' deep. It's not a Toroid, it's a standard looking transformer. The primary side has two wires (duh) brown and blue. The secondary side has two red, one black, one gray, and two yellow.

My question is, what exactly would I have to measure to see if this is usable for a GainClone? I presume either the black or the gray is 0v? But what would the other be then? I have a multimeter and everything, I just need to know which wires to touch the probes to, so i can figure everything out! I seem to remember getting 52v out of both reds when I was playing with it at work, so I know it is capable of delivering enough voltage. I just don't know if the configuration is right.

Sorry for such a beginner question, but can anyone help me?

looks like the two red wires are of higher voltage than the two yellow ones, use a dmm to confirm which of the black or the grey goes with the reds or the yellows, finally, you can check the secondary voltages using a voltmeter to measure secondary outputs with a 110 volts ac primary input...take care!!!

testing the transformer carefully.

Usually the high voltage secondary will have a higher dc resistance than the low voltage coil. For 100VA transformers the high voltage coils could be 100 ohms or thereabout. The low voltage coils could be 10 ohms or less. It all depends on the VA ratings.