Intermittent DC Offset? Source or Amp? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 20th May 2013, 02:28 AM   #1
glenv6 is offline glenv6  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Intermittent DC Offset? Source or Amp?

Intermittent DC Offset - Source or Amp?

Hello DIYers - I appreciate any and all help with my issue. Sorry, I am a newbie and it’s a long post...

I blew up a pair of speakers testing my "minimized" AudioSector LM3875 amp in the first few hours of its life and I am trying to figure out why. I checked and tested everything other than DC offset before hooking up my first pair of test speakers (8 ohm) and input source (a Microsoft Zune MP3 player working off battery only). I cycled the power at least 20 times before hearing the loud hum from the power supply and a crackle and hum in the speakers that resulted in blown speakers.

I posted my question on the commercial-gainclone-kit thread here:
Commercial Gainclone kit- building instructions

After reading info AndrewT replied with, I put the power supply in a box with good grounds, including a ground-break circuit and tested everything again. This time I also tested DC offset as explained in the commercial-gainclone-kit thread. DC offset as measured was 47/69. Once again the amp didn't send anything other than sweet sounds to the speakers through many on-off cycles before the horrible hum shot through attempting to foil my listening efforts for a second time. This time I had 4 ohm single driver car speakers hooked up and they survived the hum.