LM3886 GC with LM4562 tone control

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello all. First post on diyAudio. I'm in the process of planning out my first LM3886 amp. I've built a few headphone amps, but this is my first power amp. I'm a graphic designer, not an electrical engineer, so I'm sure I'll be asking dumb questions. Thank you all for the vast amount of information I've been finding throughout these forums.

Other than the tone control, I'm planning a fairly "by the book" GC with a power supply based on the carlosfm design (but with less total capacitance) and an added regulated +-15v rail to use with the LM4562 tone control. I'll be feeding the amp from a Presonus firewire interface.

I know many may advise against a tone control, but where I'm going to be using this amp, I'd like to have the tone control. I plan to add a tone bypass switch for when it's not wanted/needed. I have some LM4562s and the tone control seems simple compared to other schematics I've seen, so that's why I'm considering it right now.

The LM4562 data sheet provides the attached schematic for the tone control. My big question right now is how to implement the tone control. Should it be placed before the volume control or after? I'd suspect before. Should I move the input dc blocking capacitors before the tone control, or leave them after? Will this affect the input impedance of the amp? I don't want the volume to change between having the tone on or off, or have any pop when switching.

This is probably a total noob question too, but, for the tone bypass switch, can I do a simple bypass like I attached, or do I need to completely cut the tone section out of the signal path? Still learning...

While I'm here, I'll throw in a few questions about the power supply too that I've not found answers to yet.
1. What's the general agreement on the type of capacitor for the 100nF and 1.5nF? Poly Film? Tantalum? Disc?