What is Decibel Scale - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 12th December 2012, 11:17 PM   #1
Joseph1 is offline Joseph1  Sri Lanka
diyAudio Member

Default What is Decibel Scale

Guts I'm really confused on this decibel scale numbers.

In my earlier AVtuner it has volume control numerical values marked on the front panel display.It will go down from 0 to 32 levels.The numbers got bigger as you increased volume & when you reduced the volume, the numbers got smaller. Very easy to understand.

But newer amplifiers consist with decibel figures!!! I really confused.It will go from -25dB to +18dB.What does it means?

If I have a home built amplifier ex:LM1875 how can you scale it to decibel scale?

I'm new to these decibel figures
Old 13th December 2012, 02:11 AM   #2
djoffe is offline djoffe  United States
diyAudio Member

db=20*log(voltage_gain)

if db<0, it means a gain of less than 1...for example:
-12 dB => gain of 1/4
-6 dB => gain of 1/2
0 dB=> gain of 1
+6 dB=> gain of 2
+12 dB=> gain of 4
+18 dB=> gain of 8

Akitika GT-101
Old 13th December 2012, 03:05 AM   #3
d a o is offline d a o  Denmark
diyAudio Member

Click the image to open in full size.
Old 13th December 2012, 03:39 AM   #4
Bazukaz is offline Bazukaz  Lithuania
diyAudio Member

Send a message via Skype™ to Bazukaz
In its roots the decibel(1/10th of a bel) is just an expression of ratio in logarithmic scale. As posted above, in case of voltage the expression is :
db = 20* log(U1/U2)
You can measure any ratios you want with it, for example a distance or oil price compared to something.
It was selected as a common unit for sounds because our hearing works in more like logarithmic way. Two times more sound pressure is not heard as two times "louder".

Regards,
Lukas.