What is Decibel Scale

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Guts I'm really confused on this decibel scale numbers.

In my earlier AVtuner it has volume control numerical values marked on the front panel display.It will go down from 0 to 32 levels.The numbers got bigger as you increased volume & when you reduced the volume, the numbers got smaller. Very easy to understand.

But newer amplifiers consist with decibel figures!!! I really confused.It will go from -25dB to +18dB.What does it means?

If I have a home built amplifier ex:LM1875 how can you scale it to decibel scale?

I'm new to these decibel figures :(

In its roots the decibel(1/10th of a bel) is just an expression of ratio in logarithmic scale. As posted above, in case of voltage the expression is :
db = 20* log(U1/U2)
You can measure any ratios you want with it, for example a distance or oil price compared to something.
It was selected as a common unit for sounds because our hearing works in more like logarithmic way. Two times more sound pressure is not heard as two times "louder".

Regards,
Lukas.

When your tuner is at 0 dB, the signal out is at the same level as what is coming in. When it is at +10 dB it should sound about "twice as loud", -10 dB half.

If you want to put a log scale on something with a volume knob, it can be tricky. Unless you know the total gain of the amplifier, you need to use an AC volt meter. (Most inexpensive ones are only accurate with a 60 hz signal.) Measure both the input and output voltage, then just use the formula db = 20* log(voltage out/voltage in).

When it is at +10 dB it should sound about "twice as loud", -10 dB half.
6dB is "twice as loud", -6db is "half as loud"

20*log(2) = 6.02

20*log(1/2) = -6.02

Btw, power is measured as

10* log(P1/P2)

as power involves a voltage squared for a given load, and square rooting inside a log is the same as halving (hence 10 not 20) outside it