I think I killed it.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
LM3875. Single chip amplifier. +/-38 volt rails, 1000 uF filters. I'm 99.9% sure I got everything right--nothing blew up, and my meter told me all was well.

Still, I hooked up a speaker and--+V rail appears at the output. Whoops.

Does this mean the chip is dead? Or do I just have something wired wrong? It's not a super big deal... it was an ugly hackjob anyway... but from what I'd read, the chips mostly didn't swing one way or the other when they died... This is my first attempt and I don't know if I should just move on or check my connections for a 43rd time...

Thanks all.

(PS - it actually made a pretty neat noise when I turned it on with a load connected... too bad it burned out the speaker in the process. :bawling: )

Apparently one of those days :(

Hi!

A friend of mine and I also killed one of the GC yesterday ... :(

Pitty ...

Still - one picture of the "protoype" that didn't survive the burning in ....

Attachments

• gc2m.jpg
    gc2m.jpg
    38.2 KB · Views: 465
But than again - it might be the destiny - 'cause now the chassis will be redesigned a bit ... And also the topology will be changed ...

Hush .. Still a bit sad because of poor LM's that got fried in an unfriendly maner ;)

And another picture ...

Attachments

• gc1.jpg
    gc1.jpg
    52.4 KB · Views: 456
Details, details...

It's the most sloppy, horrible implementation ever. I'm positive that I got the connections right--the problem was, I'm sure, my own laziness.

One question that I didn't ask, out of both laziness and embarassment, because at the time I bought my caps, I thought I'd be using a 35 volt rail... just how bad is it to run these things outside spec? They've gotta have some headroom, right? 38V isn't THAT much above the rating...