newbie here asking for help

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,
I am new here in this forum. I have some experience in the audio world in general.But this is my first time setting up a DIY amplifier.

First off I have some TEA2025 chips lying around, 3 of them to be exact. So for my first try, I followed this diagram on a breadboard.

3-a41c2c40ee.jpg

I think I have everything down correctly and powered by a 9v dc adapter/transformer, followed the polarities but I have a few questions.

-first is, I am confused which is the positive output for the speaker leads , is it the <2,3> output or the <14,15>
-second once I plug it all in, except for the input signal, I get a constant popping sound and when I introduce the input signal I get very little music and it all sounds VERY distorted.
-last is any suggestions as to how I can configure this to be a subwoofer amp?This was intended for the subwoofer of a 2.1 speaker system

any help would be appreciated, I have a little electronics background..

Thanks in advance

Pin 15 is the output for pin 10 input.

Looks like grounding issue. You run a long supply cable from a not so good adaptor. Best is the diode bridges are on PCB near the chip.

Is 5W enough for a subwoofer? You need an active crossover. One opamp IC is enough but that may be too complicated, no?

-first is, I am confused which is the positive output for the speaker leads , is it the <2,3> output or the <14,15>
Neither pair. The output is an AC signal and so it doesn't have a specific positive polarity.
Another way it can be viewed, though, is that the signal input is to the noninverting input pin 10 (IN 1+) of the amp. That means that pin 15 (OUT 1) goes positive when the signal input goes positive. That's a good reason to make pin 15 the bridged positive speaker connection. Pin 15 is also the positive (ie ungrounded) speaker connection in stereo mode.