Cap. at the output on bridged no DC

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi this is my first time posting...I have an idea that may look far fetched but i see alot of concern in regard to paralleling and bridging the lm3886 amps to achieve higher power, this concern because the dc present at the output and different dc levels will induce current flow between the amps, BUT what would happen if we connect a high current..snubber capacitor.. at the output before the low ohm resistors. Wouldn't this block ALL dc from flowing between the amps? I know that the capacitor will somewhat act like a filter, but can't we pick a cap. value that would not affect audio 20-20KHz? Please reply I would like to see other point of views on this.

If you look at teh maths for this I think you might be put off quite quickly, as say we had a 4 ohm load to drive, and you wanted the -3dB point to be a 10 Hz to stay out of the way of the audible range. To do this you would need to have a capacitor of at least 0.004F (4000uF). This cap would have to be a non polar type and be able to withstand the voltages present in a bridged amplifier (with could be as high as +/- 80V for an LM3875 chip), and then on top of all this, it would have to sound good.

So, if you can find a cap like this for a reasonable price, I would be quite supprised, but if you do, I would very much like to know where you can get them :D .

Andrew.

you make an RC network, basically a highpass filter on the speaker. now to lower the allowed response, the cap needs to be big, or the speaker impedance needs to be large. for 4ohm speakers, this means a large electrolyic. for a power amp the votlage will be large, and thus the cap will be even larger. electrolytic caps also are further from the ideal cap then say film and foil, again making them even less ideal.