Help me bring back to life an old peavey rage 108 guitar amp! - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 24th August 2012, 07:25 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Help me bring back to life an old peavey rage 108 guitar amp!

This is going to be a long one

Well my friend was about to throw this amp to the garbage when I said "give it to me, I have a technicall degree on electronics, maybe I can fix it"

So I plugged it and turn it ON without the guitar connected to it. And this high volumen whooom noise started coming out of the speaker. I turned the knobs (volumen, gain for the distorted channel, bass and middle) and made no diference to the noise; only when I turned the knob of the high pass filter the noise seemed to change slightly but rather than that its just noise. Then I plug the guitar and tried to do the same experiments and the noise was the same and it seemed like the guitar signal it is not doing anything, because when I played the guitar the noise did not change and there is no guitar sound coming out of the speaker, just the same noise.

I took out the circuit (unplug the speaker and unscrew the cicuit board) and it looked really disgusting, it was like a roach cementery. So I cleaned it with an electronic cleaning spray and the only thing I could see damaged was a 2200F 35V cap that was swollen. I took it out and did the dgital multimeter test and it seemed to be ok but I replaced it any way. And then put all the things back together and turned it ON and the noise was the same. I took out againg the circuit and started making additional tests, all the resistors are ok and the other caps seems ok.

So the FAQ begins:

1 About the power supply: