My_Ref Fremen Edition RC - Build thread - Page 80 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 3rd December 2012, 10:40 AM   #791
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK, Manchester
hi mate,

it's a local guy here in Latvia where I'm now charged 25 quids for FE and about 20 for preamp.
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2012, 11:23 AM   #792
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Chennai / India
Hi All,
My Amp is running for 2 days and sounds good. I still expect sound may change much better after running several hours. Now I feel like vocal is to my face. I expect it may change after few days. But I still have problem with my amp that its clipping after 35% volume increase. Any suggestions? Dario I measured the values in power supply, it is as suggested.

Thanks
Badri
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2012, 10:35 PM   #793
Reality first!
diyAudio Member
 
ClaveFremen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Milan, Italy
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtses View Post
Dario
thanks for you advice!
You're welceome

Quote:
Originally Posted by dtses View Post
Panasonic FC - slightly bright with more highs
Nichicon MUSE & Elna Tonerex - the last one is more natural with a wider soundstage than FC. I didn't like MUSE, though the difference was very negligible if compared to Elna, but the overall impression was that this cap shouldn't be placed here.
Interesting... very similar impressions!

Quote:
Originally Posted by dtses View Post
Indeed there are some differences in C9, though for me they are far less obvious and significant than comparing two different amps.
So, at the end a difference was there...

I can agree with you but we compared different caps in C9 to choose the better one in that position... in such context comparing to another amp makes no sense... isn't it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by badrisuper View Post
I still have problem with my amp that its clipping after 35% volume increase. Any suggestions?
Hi Badri,

some more infos are needed.... are you using which transformers (secondaries voltage rating), which loadspeakers (still the Monitor Audio?).

I ask because if you're driving your Monitor Audios with 24V/25V secondaries clipping is expected....

More... you're having clipping on both channels?
__________________
Dario
ClaveFremen "Bailando Salsa en el Sietch"
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2012, 10:43 PM   #794
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Chennai / India
Quote:
Originally Posted by ClaveFremen View Post
You're welceome



Interesting... very similar impressions!



So, at the end a difference was there...

I can agree with you but we compared different caps in C9 to choose the better one in that position... in such context comparing to another amp makes no sense... isn't it?



Hi Badri,

some more infos are needed.... are you using which transformers (secondaries voltage rating), which loadspeakers (still the Monitor Audio?).

I ask because if you're driving your Monitor Audios with 24V/25V secondaries clipping is expected....

More... you're having clipping on both channels?
Transformers:

Secondary : 22V

I tried with Monitor Audio, kenwood which is 6ohm and with onkyo 8ohm speakers. In all the speakers it is clipping and at the same level of volume (>35%). And clipping is from both the speakers. And sound wise it is getting better and better.
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2012, 10:48 PM   #795
Reality first!
diyAudio Member
 
ClaveFremen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Milan, Italy
Quote:
Originally Posted by badrisuper View Post
Transformers Secondary : 22V

I tried with Monitor Audio, kenwood which is 6ohm and with onkyo 8ohm speakers. In all the speakers it is clipping and at the same level of volume (>35%). And clipping is from both the speakers.
thanks, now it's more clear.

What are you using as a pre?

At 35% volume is really loud?

Which cables are you using?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dtses View Post
And sound wise it is getting better and better.
__________________
Dario
ClaveFremen "Bailando Salsa en el Sietch"
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2012, 10:54 PM   #796
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Chennai / India
Quote:
Originally Posted by ClaveFremen View Post

What are you using as a pre?

No preamp used. CD -> Amplifier

Quote:
Originally Posted by ClaveFremen View Post
At 35% volume is really loud?
Yes it is loud enough to my room. But I wanted to try atleast 80% volume to see how loud it is!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ClaveFremen View Post

Which cables are you using?

I am using a 16 guage speaker cable.(Locally available. Dont remember the brand name)
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2012, 11:04 PM   #797
bcmbob is offline bcmbob  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bay City, Michigan
Badri, Do you have anything to measure SPL - similar to this?
__________________
Bob M.
"Arrange Whatever Pieces Come Your Way."
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2012, 11:05 PM   #798
Reality first!
diyAudio Member
 
ClaveFremen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Milan, Italy
Quote:
Originally Posted by badrisuper View Post
No preamp used. CD -> Amplifier
So you're using a 10K volume pot?

Quote:
Originally Posted by badrisuper View Post
Yes it is loud enough to my room. But I wanted to try atleast 80% volume to see how loud it is!!!!
I can understand, BTW with recent over compressed music I can hardly use more than 50% volume (no trace of distortion though)

Quote:
Originally Posted by badrisuper View Post
I am using a 16 guage speaker cable.(Locally available. Dont remember the brand name)
So it's a plain copper wire... no cat5 ethernet cable or other high capacitance cables, right?
__________________
Dario
ClaveFremen "Bailando Salsa en el Sietch"
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2012, 11:09 PM   #799
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Chennai / India
Quote:
Originally Posted by ClaveFremen View Post
So you're using a 10K volume pot?
Yes, I am using Alps Blue Velvet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ClaveFremen View Post
So it's a plain copper wire... no cat5 ethernet cable or other high capacitance cables, right?
Yes, plain copper wire. If wire plays a vital role then I try changing the wire to DAC brand 16 guage which have in my hand or I will try monsters cable?
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2012, 11:13 PM   #800
Reality first!
diyAudio Member
 
ClaveFremen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Milan, Italy
Quote:
Originally Posted by badrisuper View Post
Yes, I am using Alps Blue Velvet.
Fine

Quote:
Originally Posted by badrisuper View Post
Yes, plain copper wire.
Fine

Quote:
Originally Posted by badrisuper View Post
If wire plays a vital role then I try changing the wire to DAC brand 16 guage which have in my hand or I will try monsters cable?
Don't worry about it, the amp must work as intended with plain copper wire.

More 'exotic' cables could improve performance but they're not required at all.
__________________
Dario
ClaveFremen "Bailando Salsa en el Sietch"
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My_Ref Fremen Edition - Beta build/Fine tuning ClaveFremen Chip Amps 1523 1st December 2013 11:16 AM
My_Ref Fremen Edition - need help on PCB evaluation ClaveFremen Chip Amps 450 23rd October 2013 03:38 PM
Last My_Ref Fremen Edition RC boards for sale ClaveFremen Swap Meet 3 4th December 2012 01:04 PM
Hx-Home Edition and Hx Mini Edition will be released December, 24th destroyer X Solid State 54 3rd September 2012 03:44 PM
Canton ERGO RC-1 (frequency room compensation) for RC-L - Schematic wanted tiefbassuebertr Multi-Way 2 20th September 2010 11:20 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:46 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2