My_Ref Fremen Edition RC - Build thread - Page 47 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 8th October 2012, 09:48 PM   #461
bcmbob is offline bcmbob  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bay City, Michigan
badrisuper, In case you need some help with the AC voltages (I did) please look at this series of posts.

My_Ref Fremen Edition - Beta build/Fine tuning

Dario is asking about the label on your transformer because it usually has a diagram of the loops on both the in and out sides of the toroid. They need to be positioned relative to "hot" and "return" on the FE.

If you don't have a label you can use the continuity mode (see red arrow) of your VOM to sniff out which pair of wires form a loop inside the transformer. This is done with no power (AC) applied.

The attached PDF gives some examples of the loops/circuits you need to determine.

The drawing shows what I think is your trani. Green shows possible loops that need to be determined.

For safety, please remove the toroid from your build while doing these tests. After the information is gathered, power can be applied to determined the output of each toroid.

These are steps we all had to do/learn so please don't feel this is something you should already know. If there is anything you don't know please ask. We all learn together.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Untitled.jpg (33.1 KB, 183 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0787.jpg (813.2 KB, 183 views)
Attached Files
File Type: pdf AN-6224.pdf (41.9 KB, 13 views)
__________________
Bob M.
"Arrange Whatever Pieces Come Your Way."

Last edited by bcmbob; 8th October 2012 at 09:58 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2012, 09:54 AM   #462
bcmbob is offline bcmbob  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bay City, Michigan
There is a continuity mode with audible beep on your your meter. Green arrow. Using that is a simpler/preferred method. Sorry, a little dense yesterday.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0787.jpg (811.9 KB, 152 views)
__________________
Bob M.
"Arrange Whatever Pieces Come Your Way."

Last edited by bcmbob; 9th October 2012 at 10:11 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2012, 02:45 PM   #463
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Chennai / India
Quote:
Originally Posted by ClaveFremen View Post
There's no label on the transformer?

Possibly you wired it incorrectly.

Regarding sound It could depend on a lot of things... source, burn-in, some component orientation ( did you turned again R11s?) and so on.

First thing is to have two working modules and listen in stereo
Yes Dario, there is no label in the transformer. Now I solved the transformer issue. Now new issue sprouted out. One board is working fine. But in another one, relay is clicking and switching off repeatedly light is on and off repeatedly. I dont know now what is the issue. Yesterday both board were fine, but now today new issue. Any idea?

Thanks
Badri
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2012, 02:46 PM   #464
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Chennai / India
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcmbob View Post
There is a continuity mode with audible beep on your your meter. Green arrow. Using that is a simpler/preferred method. Sorry, a little dense yesterday.
Thanks bcmbob. I did as you mentioned. New learning. The problem is connectivity issue. Now its solved.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2012, 02:49 PM   #465
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Chennai / India
Forgot to mention after I switch off the power, light is glowing atleast for a second. Any suggestion?
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2012, 03:04 PM   #466
bcmbob is offline bcmbob  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bay City, Michigan
Your welcome. That sounds like there is still a voltage problem. Are you sure the wiring from both toroids is identical. It is easy to reverse something when all the leads are the same color. I sometimes use a small piece of heatshrink tube or a magic marker to designate "hot". I have made that mistake a couple times. Reversing the red wires on the input side of the non-working assembly toroid might also be an option.
__________________
Bob M.
"Arrange Whatever Pieces Come Your Way."

Last edited by bcmbob; 9th October 2012 at 03:09 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2012, 03:11 PM   #467
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Chennai / India
How I connected for one board, the same way I am connecting for another. But the relay is clicking and switching off repeatedly for one board and for another its working. Shall reverse the wiring? Will it harm the board?

Thanks
Badri
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2012, 03:21 PM   #468
bcmbob is offline bcmbob  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bay City, Michigan
The FE power system is a little tricky and sensitive to the relation of hot and ground on both sides of the transformer from my understanding. It was dealt with a bit on this post, but if you can, please post a simple diagram of the loops/circuits on your toroids. It will be easier to determine. Dario can decipher what's best for the FE if he can see what is there.

I meant reversing only the input side wires, not the leads from toroid to amp. I had a similar problem connecting multiple toroids in an integrated build. Take a look backwards to where both transformers branch from a common feed. Hope that makes sense to you.
__________________
Bob M.
"Arrange Whatever Pieces Come Your Way."
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2012, 03:30 PM   #469
bcmbob is offline bcmbob  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bay City, Michigan
Here is an example. These toroids have both red and black in wires. Easy to tell apart. Yours appear to be all red and can be in the wrong place. I don't know if that is your problem. but the function/polarity of the leads need to be consistent. In the photo all red is to red - all black is to black.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Can 1.jpg (92.4 KB, 141 views)
__________________
Bob M.
"Arrange Whatever Pieces Come Your Way."

Last edited by bcmbob; 9th October 2012 at 03:36 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2012, 07:20 AM   #470
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK, Manchester
Quote:
Originally Posted by badrisuper View Post
Forgot to mention after I switch off the power, light is glowing atleast for a second. Any suggestion?
sounds like I had the same issue! make sure your toroid is connected correctly, check voltage after rectification across PS caps, then check across C102/C202 it should be around 14vdc on both rails, let us know if it's so. If not check R11 if it's shorted.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My_Ref Fremen Edition - Beta build/Fine tuning ClaveFremen Chip Amps 1523 1st December 2013 11:16 AM
My_Ref Fremen Edition - need help on PCB evaluation ClaveFremen Chip Amps 450 23rd October 2013 03:38 PM
Last My_Ref Fremen Edition RC boards for sale ClaveFremen Swap Meet 3 4th December 2012 01:04 PM
Hx-Home Edition and Hx Mini Edition will be released December, 24th destroyer X Solid State 54 3rd September 2012 03:44 PM
Canton ERGO RC-1 (frequency room compensation) for RC-L - Schematic wanted tiefbassuebertr Multi-Way 2 20th September 2010 11:20 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:46 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2