opa627+buf634 please review

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Please criticize my work! I am a beginner in electronics and PCB routing. This is basically PIMETA1 and PIMETA2 copy. Had hell of a struggle routing PCB... First I tried to manage with one layer, but then had to add a bunch of jumpers which made it ugly and confusing. Now it's double side, but still I have some doubts with my VCC routs.
P.S. Bypass capacitors tantalium and X7R, signal input capacitor 1uF 630V AMPOHM FP-CA-AU (they are biG compared to whole PCB).

Critics are needed!

Attachments

• preamp_PCB.png
    preamp_PCB.png
    121.8 KB · Views: 512
  • preamp_sch.jpg
    preamp_sch.jpg
    252 KB · Views: 515
You are missing resistors (reference to ground) on both opamps noninverting inputs. What is the gain around input opamps (inner feedback loop)? Output dc servo will not work as you will have different dc offset at each output. You have to add some electrolitics at BUF64 power supply pins 'cos they form power ground point for each channel.

you don't have any DC bias current path input the OPA627 +in, fets don't need much bias current but its still more than zero

are you driving from a low Z source or a volume pot?

the OPA627 is one of the best op amps on input common mode impedance linearity - less need to balance the +/- input source/feedback Z

balancing can't be done with classic stereo pot input because the source Z varies with volume setting

I know in great detail where the "inner loop" feedback, flawed reasoning comes from - it doesn't do what the proponents think - Walt Jung later agreed that high loop gain feedback amps can be made with low TIM/PIM and Otala's "flat loop gain over audio" prescription was unnecessary

You can safely omit R3,4

the ccs loads can be made simpler - neither the BUF634 or OPA627 swings close enough to the rail to justify the low operating V of the mirror css